October 24, 2023

Africori curates OOO: Amapiano with Out Of Order

Leading Amapiano label and distributor Africori has teamed up with Warner Music’s regional emerging markets dance label OUT OF ORDER (OOO) to deliver a star-studded collection of Amapiano gems, titled OOO: AMAPIANO.

The six-track OOO: AMAPIANO EP, curated by Africori in partnership with OUT OF ORDER, takes shape as a divine collection of Amapiano sounds helmed by some of the genre’s most important creators: Focalistic, Kelvin Momo, Khanyisa, Mawhoo, Sfarzo Rtee, Ice Beats Slide, LuuDaDeejay and Marcus MC.

Spanning the broad range of Amapiano’s kaleidoscopic spectrum, OOO: AMAPIANO presents new offerings from the viral Amapiano heavyweight Focalistic with the late-night anthem “This Year”. In “This Year”, the artist exudes confidence and determination as he lyrically declares his intent to conquer and win in the year ahead, backed by the infectious Amapiano beat. This track is a high-energy anthem that embodies the spirit of success and ambition.

Focalistic on OOO:AMAPIANO

Focalistic made the following statement about his contribution to the OOO: AMAPIANO EP: “In ‘This Year,’ I wanted to capture that spirit of determination, you know? It’s all about setting those goals and making them happen. It’s a Bacardi-leaning anthem that signifies the grind and the glory, and I’m really excited to be a part of OOO: AMAPIANO, a project that celebrates the incredible diversity of sounds within our genre. It’s all about that South African vibe, and we’re bringing it to the world.”

Elsewhere on OOO:AMAPIANO, listeners will discover club-ready floor fillers like boundary-pusher Sfarzo Rtee‘s “Konka” and the Ice Beats Slide scorcher “iyTradda” – with “iyTradda” coming off the back of their massive hit “JAGERMEISTER” and Hakuna Mathata album, solidifying their status as formidable players in the world of Amapiano.

Meanwhile, softer cuts on the EP come via the sun-kissed contribution from the Platinum-selling Kelvin Momo (South Africa’s second-highest streamed artist) as well as the soulful sonics of “Uyangihola”, where two of the hottest rising vocalists in Khanyisa and MaWhoo lends their impeccable, fluttering vocals to the bass-heavy Marcus MC production. 

Additionally, the release of the OOO: AMAPIANO EP will be celebrated on October 21st with AFRICORI X OUT OF ORDER PRESENT: AMAPIANO AFTER DARK – an exclusive launch event to be held at Soho House Amsterdam, which will feature highly sought-after performances from some of the EP’s stars like Kelvin Momo, Khanyisa, LuuDaDeeJay and Marcus MC.


About Africori and OUT OF ORDER

OOO: AMAPIANO marks the first partnership between the Africori and OUT OF ORDER teams, following on from their respectively important movements within the African music scene; the EP is OUT OF ORDER’s official follow-up to their debut compilation OOO: AFRO, released in November 2022 as a masterful ten-track snapshot of the hotbed of sounds simmering across the African region. 

Meanwhile, distribution giant Africori has established itself as the dominant destination for independent African artists and labels from across the continent, becoming the home for some of the region’s most prolific stars including Marioo, Focalistic, Rexxie and Master KG. 

Launched under Warner’s Emerging Markets Division, OUT OF ORDER defines itself as “a diverse collection of sounds in no particular order” which will highlight artists, music, cultures and communities from different corners of the globe. Several more compilations are currently in the works by the label; each themed, dance-leaning OOO compilation will launch in partnership with respective local Warner teams, supporting each region’s musical talent ranging from emerging names to chart-topping stars. 

The label continues to engage audiences via its own radio show – which broadcasts mixes from DJs and producers around the globe – as well as an informative social media presence which educates audiences on the origins of sounds, scenes and cultures from global regions. 

Coming together as a cohesive collection showcasing the diversity of the ever-growing Amapiano movement, Africori and OUT OF ORDER’s OOO: AMAPIANO serves what is sure to become a set of future staples for the globally adored Amapiano scene.

Africori X Out Of Order Present OOO: Amapiano’ – Tracklist

  1. “Track Title TBC” – Kelvin Momo
  2. “Uyangihola (feat. MaWhoo, Zee_nhle & Man Dee)” – Marcus MC, Khanyisa
  3. “Konka” – Sfarzo Rtee
  4. “This Year” – Focalistic 
  5. “iyTradda” – Ice Beats Slide, Sbuda Maleather
  6. “Rihiii” – LuuDaDeejay

    Leave a Reply