Global Citizen announces ‘Stand Up: A Global Citizen prize project’ album

December 10, 2020

International advocacy organization Global Citizen announced their partnership with Parlophone Records/Atlantic Records and Grammy-winning recording artist Raphael Saadiq to release STAND UPThis is an eight-song collection that aims to restore hope, inspire and celebrate the heroism of leaders and activists around the world. STAND UP is now available on iHeartRadioTIDAL, Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon, YouTube, and Deezer ahead of the Global Citizen Prize award special airing tomorrow, Sunday, December 20, 2020, on SABC3.

Hugh Evans, CEO of Global Citizen said, “We are so incredibly grateful to Raphael Saadiq and the incredible artists who worked with us on this special album. Music has always been at the heart of the Global Citizen movement, and we hope this album will inspire and celebrate people across the world who are working to make a difference.”

Executive produced by Raphael Saadiq, the album features iconic songs re-imagined by some of today’s most beloved artists, including: 

  • Tori Kelly + JoJo
  • PJ Morton + Yola
  • Andra Day + Chelsea Collins
  • Ari Lennox + GoldLink
  • Jordin Sparks + MILCK
  • Bonfyre + Masego  
  • Lucky Daye + BJRNCK + Big Freedia

“It was an honour to work on STAND UP with Global Citizen and such incredible artists, who all came together for this passion project in a year that has been so difficult for so many,” said Raphael Saadiq, Artist and Executive Producer of STAND UP. “During this time, music has played a key role in keeping us all connected and my hope for those who listen is to feel empowered to create change.”

STAND UP is released ahead of the Global Citizen Prize award special, a broadcast event hosted by John Legend that honours those making extraordinary efforts to lift the world’s most vulnerable while making the world a better place. In advance of the album release, TIDAL and Raphael Saadiq hosted an exclusive listening session, joined by multi-platinum recording artist Jordin Sparks and singer, songwriter, and social activist MILCKTIDAL members can re-watch the album listening session on tidal.com/standup and non-members can sign up for a free limited-time membership to access the session and other TIDAL content, no payment required. Spotify also worked in collaboration with the STAND UP album experience to create exclusive video interstitials of behind the scenes making of the album. Exclusive interviews with artists, including Raphael Saadiq, will be featured on Spotify’s The Get Up podcast and integrated marketing activations from iHeartRadio will also help promote the album.

Global Citizen Prize will premiere on Saturday, December 19, 2020, at 8:00 P.M. ET on NBC in the United States and CTV in Canada. The Global Citizen Prize will also air on MSNBC on Sunday, December 20, 2020, at 10:00 P.M. ET, with a second airing on New Year’s Eve at midnight. Albavision in Central and Latin America, Digicel in The Caribbean, South Pacific and Central America, Insight TV in Asia, Europe and the Middle East, Mediacorp in Singapore, SABC in South Africa, SKY Media in the United Kingdom, TIDAL in the United States, TRACE Anglophone West Africa in Nigeria, Ghana and East Africa, MTV International on select channels in Africa, Asia, Europe, and Latin America, Multimedios Televisión in México, and Vodafone in Europe, Africa, Oceania and Asia will also air the awards. The Global Citizen Prize show will also be available digitally on Facebook, Twitter and YouTubeGlobal Citizen Prize will also feature a performance of STAND UP track, (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman covered by Tori Kelly and JoJo. Visit globalcitizen.org/prize for a full listing of global broadcast times. 

The Countdown to the Prize digital pre-show, hosted by Access Hollywood’s Scott Evans, will feature exclusive behind-the-scenes interviews with John Legend, Common, Alessia Cara, Tori Kelly, JoJo and Raphael Saadiq, special packages on the Prize winners, and a virtual red carpet, streaming at 7:30 P.M. ET on Facebook and Twitter. See here for digital pre-show air times around the world. 

Global Citizen

Full Tracklisting

  • Come Together (The Beatles) – Jordin Sparks x MILCK
  • Give The People What They Want (The O’Jays) – PJ Morton x Yola 
  • (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman (Aretha Franklin) – Tori Kelly x JoJo
  • Higher Ground (Stevie Wonder) – Andra Day x Chelsea Collins
  • Mercy Mercy Me (Marvin Gaye) – Bonfyre x Masego
  • Be Thankful for What You’ve Got (William DeVaughn) – Lucky Daye x BJRNCK x Big Freedia
  • Sorrow Tears and Blood (Fela) – Ari Lennox x GoldLink
  • Humxn Race (written by Raphael Saadiq & Taura Stinson; featuring various artists on the album)

This year’s Global Citizen Prize will present six categories, including: 

  • Global Citizen of the Year
  • Global Citizen Prize for World Leader
  • Global Citizen Prize for Business Leader
  • Global Citizen Artist of the Year
  • Cisco Youth Leadership Award 
  • Global Citizen Country Hero Award

The broadcast and digitally streamed special will also feature inspirational stories and unforgettable performances from artists including: 

  • Alessia Cara
  • Carrie Underwood
  • Common
  • Gwen Stefani
  • John Legend
  • JoJo and Tori Kelly will perform their collaboration of (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman

    Leave a Reply