Inkabi Zezwe thrilled for their much anticipated album release Ukhamba

May 12, 2023

Inkabi Zezwe’s highly anticipated album Ukhamba has finally been released. The duo swept South Africans off their feet with their fresh top-charting love anthem, Umbayimbayiwhich has since gone double-platinum with its official music video garnering over 1.3 million views in ten days.

From the onset, Umbayimbayi dominated streaming platforms peaking at #1 on Spotify’s Made in South Africa and Bhinca Nation playlists. On Apple Music, Umbayimbayi held the #1 position on the Top 25 JohannesburgDurban, and Top 100 South Africa Charts and claimed the #1 spot on iTunes. On TikTok, the official Umbayimbayi sound has been a fan-favourite and now sits at over 236K creations on the app. Additionally, the hit song claimed the #1 spot on South African radio for three consecutive weeks.

Leroy Khoza, label executive of Nkabi Records, said, “As the Nkabi label executive, we formulated the idea of these two giants collaborating together. We are thrilled that the single exceeded our expectations and are eager to see the success of the Album Ukhamba coming to life.”

Inkabi Zezwe

Inkabi Zezwe to bring you into their world with Ukhamba

With UkhambaInkabi Zezwe hopes to bring listeners much deeper into their world. The album was recorded in Bergville over a period of two weeks, and Bergville became a source of inspiration for the kinds of sounds the musicians would gravitate towards. Produced by Xowla Shabalala, also known as Stallion and Mfanafuthi’ Ruff’ Nkosi, the project is filled with elements of AfropopR&BHip-Hop, and Maskandi, celebrating both Sjava and Big Zulu’s sonic inclinations. Thematically they tackle their innermost concerns, such as love and identity, with their own Zuluness at the forefront of the conversation. Still, the messaging is universal as Ukhamba is, at its core, preoccupied with how people can hold community, affection, and sensitivity for themselves and those around them. Over twelve captivating tracks, Inkabi Zezwe takes listeners on a riveting journey that feels personal but reflects a nation back to itself and will become a significant contemporary South African anthology. 

“As 1020 Cartel, we’re really excited about Ukhamba because it really is a moment for the Culture. Not only are Big Zulu and Sjava proving that collaboration can build, grow and multiply the art and legacy; they are doing so in a way that’s authentic and pays homage to who they truly are. And that goes to the heart of what the Cartel is about. Ukuziqhenya ngobuwena.” Commented 1020 Cartel co- director, Nothando Migogo

“The album Ukhamba has twelve tracks where we started off the by giving the fans a taste of the double platinum single Umbayimbayi where the musician’s first line is them prophesying love to their love interest, and they would shoot mountains to solve any challenges the partner encounter. A continuation of this is a heartbreak song “Sayona fans would definitely relate to it. Sjava says, “Sayona is a song dedicated to two people that love each other, however, due to their past mistakes they cannot seem to find a common ground and they reflect on their past mistakes.”

Along with Impumelelo, Big Zulu explains that “This song is about the pain of losing your partner when you are broke, jobless, and trying to make ends meet.”

Ukhamba Tracklist 

  1. Intro (Inkabi Zezwe)
  2. Khaya lami
  3. Siyabonga
  4. Omunye
  5. Umbayimbayi
  6. Uthando Lunye
  7. Emapusheni
  8. Slow Jam Sase Bergville
  9. Iskhwele
  10. Sayona
  11. Ilanga
  12. Impumelelo (ft Xolwa Stallion)

More to look forward to is Inkabi Zezwe’s four-city tour beginning on 24th June at the Sunbet Arena @ Time Square in Pretoria followed by Grand Arena, GrandWest in Cape Town on Saturday 29th July, moving along to The Big Top Arena at Carnival City on Saturday 26th August and concluding the tour in Durban at the Hollywoodbets Kings Park Stadium on Saturday 3rd September. Tickets to the tour are available for purchase on Computicket HERE.

    Leave a Reply